Skip to content

Rejected Book Plots

Not every book can be the next Twilight

Clifford The Big Red Dog Has a Thyroid Problem

“But Emily Elizabeth, I don’t want to go to the doctor” Clifford said in his big red dog voice.

“I know, Clifford but you are a pretty big, red dog. Maybe it is time to get checked out” said Emily Elizabeth in a reassuring tone only an optimistic eight year old can convey.

“But Emily Elizabeth, why do I have to go? I’ve been around since 1963 when Norma Bridwell first conceived me” Clifford said trying to talk his way out of the doctor’s appointment.

“I didn’t want to pull this card, but I do own you Clifford. Dogs haven’t been emancipated so you must do as I say” Emily Elizabeth jested.

“Yes, master” Clifford said obediently.

The next day Clifford and Emily Elizabeth go to the doctor.

“Well, Clifford- you are much too large for your size. It is a good thing you came in when you did. Let’s run some tests” said Doctor I Have A Degree From Harvard.

“Thank you, doctor” Emily Elizabeth said in a thanking tone.

“Is it cancer?” Clifford asked not knowing what cancer was other than it took the lives of his grandmother and distant aunt.

“Maybe” Doctor I Have A Degree From Harvard quipped.

Three days later the test results were in.

“It’s not cancer. But it is a thyroid issue” Doctor I Have A Degree From Harvard said looking at Clifford’s chart.

“Thank you, doctor” Emily Elizabeth said in a thanking tone.

The End.

Tags: , , , , ,

