Skip to content

Rejected Book Plots

Not every book can be the next Twilight

Debbie Downer Goes to Christmas Dinner

Mom- So, everyone- what did you ask Santa for?

Girl 1- A Barbie!

Boy 1- A Firetruck!

Girl 2- Prince Charming!

Debbie- I close my eyes and I feel it. I feel the weight of every decision I’ve ever made, every decision I will ever make, every decision I was too afraid to make. These choices pile up. They bury deep into my chest forming little holes where the hope escapes and the sorrow fills its place. Every day the decisions get a little heavier, a little sadder, a little more futile. Some days the weight is so heavy I can’t breathe. I gasp for air and when I do I swallow some of the sorrow. With each breath it fills my lungs. I am drowning from the inside.

Mom- Please Debbie, don’t ruin Christmas.

Debbie- I’m Jewish. 

Tags: , , ,

