Skip to content

Rejected Book Plots

Not every book can be the next Twilight

Never Forget

Today is not a day for humor. Today is not a day for satire. Today is a day for remembering.

Ten years ago I was a sophomore in high school. I remember it so vividly. It was my first day of Student Council, we were supposed to have a party welcoming the newly appointed kids to the pack. I was walking to my first class, CP Chemistry, when I ran into one of my friends who was panicked and saying “we’ve been attacked”. I didn’t think much about what he was muttering since I was running late. I walked into my class and the TV was on- it was a shot of the second tower falling and the smoke and debris filling the streets of New York. Without hesitation I asked “what movie are we watching?”. The idea that it was real and happening to America was so beyond my comprehension, I didn’t know what to do. I remember walking around like zombies that day and for many after it. I also remember how we rallied and found a new sense of patriotism in the aftermath.

I was just a kid but that image is forever with me. The togetherness that we all felt following the attacks is forever with me. While the pain has dulled the memories are ever lit.

Never forget.

Tags: , ,

