Skip to content

Rejected Book Plots

Not every book can be the next Twilight

Mama Who Bore Me

Dear mama,

You carried me for nine months and I’m sure many more after that, I don’t exactly remember but I’m told you did. You gave me all the best parts of you. You put up with every time I got mad for losing at double solitaire or cried because my brother made me listen to Cake again (a band I grew to love and enjoy with him later in life). You nurtured my talent for memorizing song lyrics and even managed to look the other way when I would constantly correct you. You wanted me to feel special always, even if that meant lying to me about the time I was born so I could tell people I was born on 11/11 at 11:11 am. I wasn’t but I told that story well into my teenage years. You would laugh every time I got hurt and it would get me laughing and it would hurt less. Because of you I have a healthy love of the theatre and a bit of an unhealthy love of coffee. You took everything we had and made it seem like we were the richest family on the planet. You gave up so much so we could be the people we’re turning out to be. Thank you for that.

I have never felt unloved or not supported by you a day in my life, even that one time I dyed my hair a super bright awful red.

Thank you for being my mom and loving me and all my ridiculousness. I couldn’t dream of a better mother, and you well know thanks to you- I’m a big dreamer.

Happy Mother’s Day. I love you.

Tags: ,

