Skip to content

Rejected Book Plots

Not every book can be the next Twilight

My Life: A New Musical: In the Key of Awesome

Curtin opens on an empty stage. In the corner is a TV and a poster of Garden State hanging lazily above it. The lights come up and a cat, Holden, runs across the stage stopping to claw at the couch (even though there is a perfectly good scratching post right next to it).

[cue music]

Door opens and a woman in her mid-twenties enters stage left. She drops her bag and goes into a power ballad to open the show:

Holden, I’m home!

What have you done all day, dear Holden?

Did you nap, did you clap, did hear a sound and tap?

Did you sleep, without a peep with all the pillows in a heap?

Dear, Holden.

There is a knock on the door. The music fades as the woman goes to answer it. Creepy neighbor is standing at the door with a bicycle. He mumbles something about wanting to hang out with him, his roommate and his girlfriend but insists it won’t be like a double date.

[music]

I don’t know what to tell you, Jacob.

I already said I was busy, Jacob.

Why don’t you take no for an answer, Jacob?

LEAVE!

Woman shuts the door and continues to sing to her cat. Lights go out and we next see woman in a Galaxy Grey Civic.

END OF ACT I SCENE I

 

Tags: , , , ,

